The Act of Getting There

It is not knowledge, but the act of learning, not possession but the act of getting there, which grants the greatest enjoyment.

-Carl Gauss

Carl Gauss is the princeps mathematicorum (Prince of Mathematicians) and my personal mathematical hero. Someday I’ll write an ode to him. I’ll let you know when I do.

I love this quote because it reminds me to take joy in the process, not just the end result. Too often I overcommit myself, filling up my schedule with things to learn and accomplish until I get stressed managing it all. Today Gauss reminded me that I study not just to acquire information, but to grow my mind. I work not just for the wages I earn, but because I love what I do.

Instead of mindlessly rushing to get things done, I need to remind myself why I choose to do them in the first place. Today I resolve to step back, slow down, and enjoy each moment I spend learning and applying new knowledge.

I encourage you to do the same.

What do you think?

