Sweet Eleanor Scarf

Canon EOS 5D237

Last December, I was looking for a quick, easy Christmas gift to make, but I also wanted to try something new. I had never done a project in lace before, so I decided to try a Sweet Eleanor Scarf. I prefer to give gifts that can be thrown in the washer and dryer, so I bought some acrylic crochet thread.

The pattern was unique, easy to follow, and required only one cake of lace yarn. Straight off the hook, though, my project was a frumpy mess. It needed some heavy blocking, but I had never blocked lace before.
Canon EOS 5D103Canon EOS 5D122

After a short search, I found a helpful article on How to Block Acrylic Lace by Subversive Knitting, and carried out the instructions. I was amazed at the difference it made! The stiff, rumpled project softened and expanded into a crisp, drapy scarf.

4 thoughts on “Sweet Eleanor Scarf

  1. So pretty! I love the pattern, and the color looks great too. What color/brand is the yarn? I have a love hate relationship with blocking. I don’t actually like doing it, but it makes such a difference!

    Thanks for linking up at my Yarn Fanatic Party! I hope to “see” you there again!

    Like

What do you think?

