Quirkiness

As mentioned in my about page, I have many quirks. I decided to share some of mine today.

1. Binary finger-tapping

When I’m bored or thoughtful, I count on my right hand in binary, as quickly as I can, by tapping. My thumb represents the 1s place, my index finger represents the 2s place, the middle finger is the 4s place, and so on. I can count to 31 in about 10 seconds. When I’m really bored, I cross over my left hand, which is slightly slower, to represent the 32s place and up. I got the idea from Vi Hart’s binary finger dance video, which can be viewed here. I know I’m a total nerd, but I think this video is hilarious. And her Gauss Christmath Special is even better.

2. Varying silliness

It may come as a shock to some that I am generally considered an overly serious person, but others would wonder that I am ever silly. I have a theory that I unconsciously adjust my mood to contrast the general atmosphere. I tend to become more talkative and silly around my serious friends, and become more reserved around my energetic ones. It’s like I’m trying to balance the total energy. Could this be related to conservation of energy?

3. My career aspiration

I want to be an Astronomy professor when I grow up. Someone once asked me what I wanted to be when I grow up. After I answered her, she said, “That’s no fair. Astronomy professors can make everything up and no one would ever notice.”   That just might be true ;).

4. Excitement about weird things

Strangely, my degree of visible excitement over something is not proportional to how important it is to me. I did not show any visible eagerness when my parents asked me if I wanted to go to Greece, but I can show considerable excitement about random trifles.

5. Quotes

I have a good memory for quotes, and I have semi-relevant ones for every topic. When a friend or family uses a certain tone or phrase, I repeat the relevant quote and smile as they stare confusedly. My sister “Amelia” is the only one who gets it. There’s this scene in The Adventure of the Second Stain where Sherlock Holmes drops to the ground, flings aside the rug, finds a secret compartment, feels inside it, then shuts it with a “bitter snarl of anger and disappointment.” Amelia and I each mimicked this scene at home in front of our parents. When they asked what on earth we were doing, we rolled on the floor with belly-shaking laughter, and were unable to stop for a few minutes.

One thought on “Quirkiness

  1. I totally relate to the energy quirk. It happens to me all the time.

    I think this post is super cute! I love it. Keep it comin’! 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

